Monday, July 13, 2015

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Published: May 5, 2015 by Bloomsbury Children's
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal
Format: Hardcover
Source: Target
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

✮ ✮ ✮  ½

(Warning: Review may contain spoilers!)


I have read a lot of books and watched tons of movies that retells a classic fairytalewhether it be Cinderella, Rapunzel, Snow White, or Beauty and the Beastbut I have not frankly encountered such sort of retelling that Sarah J. Maas did on her new series. It is unique and thrilling and, well, steamy.

As I have mentioned, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a fairytale retelling of Beauty and the Beast; but what sold me to Maas's book is that she laced it with her own twist. Her novel did not follow the well-known storyline, Maas only adopted the concept of the fairytale as her base, and then warps it into one of her own as she goes along. Speaking from personal experience, I knew that A Court of Thorns and Roses is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, but as I got deeper into the story, I actually forgot that it was based on that tale because of how much originality Maas managed to incorporate in her book.

Tamlin, the beast, is not what I expected. Because this book is based on the aforementioned children's tale, anyone may foretell that Tamlin is one of a bitter beast. One that has done cruel things in the past, just like the beast we've grown up knowing. Contrary to that assumption, Tamlin is not a rancorous creature, but rather a benevolent beast. And that mere characteristic only makes him a lovable character . . . an admirable "unusual" love interest.

One of the things that I truly like about the book is Feyre's imperfections. It is no doubt that she is yet another one of those kick-ass heroine, another one of those female lead who bravely plunged into the unknown to save her loved one, but her illiteracy makes her so unique. Most female lead usually don't even have a single flaw about them, but Feyre's disability to read and write differentiates herself from those "seemingly perfect" female leads. Her imperfections only makes her look and sound more . . . human.

The magic in this book is something that is highly enjoyable. Both sides of magic are introduced—the good and the bad, and all its different kinds of uses. The world of Prythian may sound like a safe haven with all its magical forests and starlight water, but it embodies the idea that not all things beautiful equates to something of its beauty as well. I like that Maas tangled the worlds of the humans and the faeries, and successfully built this tension and chaos that can only be mended by . . . well . . . you'll know it once you read the book.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is an exhilarating fairytale retelling that revolves around humans and faeries and magic. It is seductively sexy in some parts, which is something that I never expected in a young adult novel. But there aren't a lot of intimate moments, so I really enjoyed the story, still. This book has kept me up at night, my mind resisting to put the book down unless I have perused the novel up to its very last punctuation mark.


✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series' prequel, The Assassin's Blade. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog.

✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖ ✖

No comments:

Post a Comment